Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

ETIAS is coming in 2023


British citizens will require an ETIAS to visit EU member countries in 2023

The EU now consider the UK as a ‘third-country’. At present we can travel to the EU without a travel authorization until the ETIAS is launched in 2023. The ETIAS requirement for British travellers was confirmed by the EU in 2019.

What is ETIAS?

ETIAS stands for the EU Travel Information and Authorisation System. It was announced by the European Commission in 2016

How will I apply?

You can only apply online for ETIAS, as you would any other electronic travel authorization. Mail or postal applications are not accepted.

Do I need to apply for a separate ETIAS for each country I visit?

No, only one approved ETIAS is required per traveller to visit all ETIAS member countries. You do not need to apply for an ETIAS for each member country you visit. An approved ETIAS will cover all visits to ETIAS member countries, regardless the travellers point of E.U. entry or exit

How long is the ETIAS valid for?

The ETIAS will be valid for three years, or the date of passport expiry (whichever comes first), and can be used for stays of up to 90 days in a 180 day period.

Want to know more?

Skip to content